Yma Sumac R.I.P.

I just became aware of Yma Sumac’s death today. The many-octaved Yma died last Saturday at the ripe old age of 86 and will indeed be missed! Check out the great vid below of Yma in her prime.

~ by gorightly on November 7, 2008.

4 Responses to “Yma Sumac R.I.P.”

  1. I first experienced the exotic excellence of Yma Sumac in 1963 when SECRET OF THE INCAS played at my local flea-pit in Lincoln, England. I was hooked immediately, and have now devoted a website to this great movie.

    http://www.secretoftheincas.co.uk

  2. Superb site, James!

  3. I love Yma Sumac; I grew up listening to her records. I remember sitting by the hi fi, holding those colorful album covers, and thinking this was the strangest, but neatest, voice. I still have those albums, my mom gave them to me when she moved.

  4. Thank you for your nice comment, gorightly.

Leave a Reply

 
